Eating disorders taking over society

 

I’ve thought about writing about eating disorders for quite some time now, because it’s something that’s getting more and more common in our society, both amongst girls and boys. It’s so sad that people go to these extremes and I wish I could help them. I’m not saying anything bad about them, I don’t really think that I have the right to judge or comment people on this aspect, since I’m not perfect myself. But what I can do is inform and hopefully give some inspiration to those who are suffering from all kinds of eating disorders, by giving these examples of celebrities that have made their way from having these problems to being (somewhat) healthy today.

 

 

Jessica Alba is today known for her healthy lifestyle, but in 1999 she suffered from anorexia when she was preparing for her role in the movie “Into the Dark”. “Many girls have eating disorders, I had it too. When I went from having a girl’s body to a woman’s body, with fat in natural places, I panicked”, she said. Alba says she hopes that no girl treats her body the way she did.

 

 

 

Lindsay Lohan may not be one of the healthiest celebrities today, but at least she’s no longer bulimic. “I was sick, and I was scared too”, she said about her darkest days in 2006. “I had people sit me down and say, “You’re going to die if you don’t take care of yourself”.

 

 

 

 
Ashlee Simpson suffered from anorexia at a very young age. When practicing ballet at the age of 11, the pressure to be slim was so big it drove her into having an eating disorder. Ashlee says she’s overcome them today, but she’s afraid that other children will make the same mistakes.
 
 
 

Demi Lovato has battled binge eating and bulimia in her younger years. “My eating disorder will continue to affect me for the rest of my life”, she said to Seventeen Magazine, and wishes she had never been afflicted by it in the beginning.

 

 

 

Victoria Beckham has admitted she suffered from an eating disorder during her early Spice Girls years. “I struggled with the pressure to be thin”, she wrote in her autobiography, and says that she’s thankful for the help she’s received that made her conquer the disorder.   

 

 

 

Kelly Clarkson got criticized for her curves during her time in American Idol. She later confessed that she suffered from an eating disorder in high school, when missing out on a musical role. “I thought… If I came back and I was cuter and thinner… then I’ll get the role”, she said. Today she’s all free from her bad thoughts about her weight.

 

Source


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

RSS 2.0